“I always feel like, somebody’s watching me” – Rockwell

For as long as I can remember, my parents have threatened me to “behave” by telling me that a creepy, fat man who wears a red suit and watches all the boys and girls around the world will determine whether or not I will get any Christmas presents.

Little did I know that Christmas Eve of 1991, I would finally see that my parents were working for this guy named Santa.  Sadly enough, I do the same damn thing to my kids.  My key is, “when you stop believing in Santa Claus, you stop getting gifts”.

The weird part is that my eyes and Santa’s eyes don’t really have to work too hard anymore.  The amount of gossip given from friends, family, teachers and our beloved Facebook make it really easy to “monitor” our little ones.

As Siva Vaidhyanathan stated in her article Naked in the ‘Nonopticon’,most of these kids in our current generation are aware that they are being monitored … they still act a fool, ignoring the repercussions of their actions.

What are they going to do?  They hear stories of how grandpa and his friends moved cars from the parking lots onto buildings for fun, grandma and her friends traumatized freshman by initiations on school grounds but they are being watched.  Oh that sounds fair … right?

 
I don’t know if you’ve seen The Dark Knight or The Dark Knight Rises but if you haven’t … YOU NEED TO!!!!  Nolan introduces the concept of our government constantly watching us by using the surveillance cameras mounted as traffic cameras and every cellphone linked to a wireless network.  You might be thinking, “but that’s just in a movie about a fake city wear a multi billionaire fights crime for fun.”

SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!

This already happens.  Take a look at your car/house keys right now (go ahead, I’ll wait).  Those little plastic tabs that the super store gives you for extravagant discounts links you to your purchases.  Why else would anyone really care if I go to Kroger to buy the store brand toilet paper instead of Charmin?

They do this in order to know how to stock their shelves, which coupons to send you and yes … to get those extra 3 cents off the fake Vitamin water that actually tastes like sugarless Kool-aid.  They disguise it as market research.

“As a result of all that cross-referencing of so many data points, ChoicePoint knows me better than my parents do which explains why the catalogs that arrive at my home better reflect my tastes than do the ties my father gives me each birthday.” – Siva.

If you look at the cash register in the picture to the left, you will see that it reads “IF YOU PLAN TO SHOPLIFT, LET US KNOW. – THANKS”.  Sounds silly, right?

According to Dante’s character, “Theoretically, people see money on  the counter and nobody around, they  think they’re being watched.”

This generates “Honesty through paranoia.”

The ability to govern ourselves by constantly feeling that you’re being watched is what our world is coming to.

If you don’t believe that, then you are sadly mistaken.

Try going to Mardi Gras and show your stuff for some beads or go to some “high-end” bars in San Francisco and then go back to work on Monday to see what your friends now think about you.  You would hope and pray that nobody sees you doing anything dumb but what if they do?

Can you remove yourself from that situation?  According to the Online Privacy Blog … you can and it doesn’t take millions of dollars.

“If you had a delete button for your life, would you use it? What types of things would you erase?” – Sarah Downey

 

3 thoughts on ““I always feel like, somebody’s watching me” – Rockwell

  1. This is my first time visit at here and i am actually impressed to read all
    at one place.

    • renedg says:

      Thank you CSLAND Counter-Strike 1.6.
      I tend to try and have as much fun as possible when I’m writing my blogs. Even if most of them were for a grade.

  2. getaslot.com says:

    I do not even know the way I ended up right here, however I thought
    this put up used to be good. I do not know who you are but
    definitely you are going to a famous blogger for those who
    aren’t already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

